Posted on

The Essential Miles Davis

The Essential Miles Davis

The Essential Miles Davis

Spanning over 40 years (1945-86) and seven labels, “The Essential Miles Davis” is a limited double vinyl LP collection that captures the essence of jazz legend Miles Davis at every stage of his career. From his early recordings with Bird, such as “Now’s the Time,” to his own triumphs like “Round About Midnight” and “Miles Runs the Voodoo Down,” and even his late recordings including “Time After Time,” this compilation showcases the limitless creative genius of Davis.

Miles Davis: A Catalyst for Modern Music

Trumpeter and bandleader Miles Davis was not only a pioneer in jazz but also a major catalyst for the evolution of modern music. His innovative approach to music and willingness to experiment with different styles and genres set him apart from his contemporaries. Davis’s middle-register trumpet accommodated a myriad of styles, showcasing his versatility and adaptability as an artist.

A Journey Through Time

“The Essential Miles Davis” takes listeners on a journey through time, showcasing the evolution of Davis’s sound and style. From the bebop classic “Now’s the Time” to the enchanting Snow White waltz “Someday My Prince Will Come” and the modal masterpiece “So What” from the iconic album “Kind of Blue,” each track represents a different phase in Davis’s musical exploration.


  1. Now’s the Time
  2. Round About Midnight
  3. Miles Runs the Voodoo Down
  4. Time After Time

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Is this collection available in other formats?

Yes, “The Essential Miles Davis” is also available in CD and digital formats for those who prefer alternative listening options.

2. Can I find rare or unreleased tracks in this collection?

While this collection primarily features well-known tracks from Miles Davis’s discography, there may be some lesser-known gems that fans will discover and enjoy.

3. Are there any liner notes or additional content included?

Yes, the double vinyl LP release of “The Essential Miles Davis” includes a booklet with extensive liner notes, providing insights into Davis’s life, career, and the significance of each track.


“The Essential Miles Davis” is a must-have for any jazz enthusiast or music lover. This collection not only showcases the incredible talent and creativity of Miles Davis but also serves as a testament to his lasting impact on the world of music. From his early recordings to his late masterpieces, this compilation is a comprehensive representation of Davis’s musical journey and evolution.